Tinder Finally Adds a Block Contacts Feature!!

Tinder Finally Adds a Block Contacts Feature!!

Although meeting new people in the global pandemic is complicated, downloads and dating apps have recently increased. Now, with the popularity of the COVID-19 vaccine, this trend may continue. In other words, Tinder expects an “endless season after the pandemic,” and they are launching a new feature in case of emergency. 

Now, users can upload their phone contacts to select certain people they don’t want to see in the app, whether they are ex, colleagues, or family members. According to a survey commissioned by Tinder, 40% of people found their ex-partner on the app, 24% had met their family members, and one in ten had even met their teacher. Back to the dating market. But from the perspective of user security, the new features are more interesting. For example, if someone previously encountered a stalker or abuser inside or outside the app, you can now block it directly on Tinder; however, Tinder does not create a simple form where you can enter the abuser’s phone number Number or e-mail address instead, it requires access to the user’s entire contact list. This is obviously for ease of use; Tinder even claims that it has only the contact information of the blocked person, not their entire address book, but users can still be cautious. 

For many years, social applications have been using address book upload to capture a large amount of user data, which has little benefit except for the friend search function. Recently, with the emergence of new applications such as Poparazzi and Clubhouse, this trend has surfaced again. Fortunately, the latter stopped this practice in March after users strongly protested. Bernadette Morgan said: “We are launching Block Contacts as an additional resource to establish new contacts by helping them create a carefree space for them so that they can rest easy.” 

In a statement, the group’s product Manager, Trust, and Safety Tinder tested the blocking contact feature in India, South Korea, and Japan and reported that members who used the feature blocked an average of a dozen people. Under your profile icon, select “Block Contacts” and then grant permissions to the application. To block someone, you cannot rely on whether they are blocked on your phone. You need to select everyone you want to block in the “Contacts” tab and then click “Block Contacts.” This user interface can easily block abusers and ex, but it is also suitable for people who want to block many people, such as all their family members or a group of close friends. This makes this feature a huge advantage for people who cheat using the Tinder application. 

Tinder strictly requires a valid phone number to register, although it is not impossible for people to bypass the system by registering with a Google Voice number. Therefore, no matter what security features Tinder implements, please proceed with caution.

Also, read – India’s Coronavirus Cases Set a New World Record as Hospitals Brace for Impact

Business